RSS Feed Twitter MySpace Facebook Digg Flickr Delicious YouTube

Self-Help Writing Workshop?

Home Forums Writing Self-Help Writing Workshop?

This topic contains 0 replies, has 1 voice, and was last updated by Profile photo of Brian Barnes Brian Barnes 10 years, 7 months ago.

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of Brian Barnes
    Brian Barnes

Hello Everybody.
    This is total “Blue Skies Thinking”, but I’m just curious to see if there’s any interest in my idea…
    I’m a filmmaker of over 20 years’ standing. For a living, I’ve been directing and editing corporate videos and the occasional cheesy TV gameshow all my professional life – I’ve never had a day job. I’ve also made 17 short films, a few have won awards and many have sold to TV around the world.
    For the past 15 years I have been trying to find or develop a feature script, so that I can make my first feature film. Naturally, as an unknown myself, I have no *real* money or backers (why else would I be posting here?), so I can’t just pick up the phone and call David Mamet and ask him to write me a script.
    Therefore I have always relied on asking for script submissions from other unkowns. Many years later, I’ve now read hundreds of scripts and the problem I have found is that there is seemingly no end of wannabe writers out there, but they just don’t seem to understand what makes a decent script, so I have always had to write my own in order to make my shorts.
    However, writing a feature is a whole different ball game. I know – I’ve written one and shopped it round. And now I know that I can’t write a feature myself…
    So, what to do?
    I reckon we need to help each other out. I can offer the benefit of my filmmaking knowledge and experience and you can offer your writing ideas and energy.