Log in Register
RSS Feed Twitter MySpace Facebook Digg Flickr Delicious YouTube

BIFA to honour Branagh and Fiennes

BIFA to honour Branagh and Fiennes

BIFA to honour Branagh and Fiennes

The organisers of the British Independent Film Awards are to give honorary prizes to the actor/directors Kenneth Branagh and Ralph Fiennes at their awards ceremony next month.
Ralph Fiennes – whose directorial debut Coriolanus was premiered at last month’s London Film Festival – will receive the Richard Harris Award, which recognises an outstanding contribution to British film by an actor. Previous winners have included John Hurt, Bob Hoskins, Jim Broadbent and Daniel Day-Lewis. Last year’s award went to Helena Bonham Carter.
The Variety Award – which recognises a film-maker who has helped to focus the international spotlight on the UK – goes to Kenneth Branagh, who scored a commercial success directing Thor in the spring, and can be seen as Sir Laurence Olivier in My Week With Marilyn from this week. The Variety Awad went to Liam Neeson last year and has previously been received by Sir Michael Caine, JK Rowling, Dame Helen Mirren, Richard Curtis, Michael Sheen and Keira Knightley.
The pair will be collect their awards in person at the ceremony at Old Billingsgate, hosted by Raindance, which created the British Independent Film Awards in 1998.



Tagged with:

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Skip to toolbar