Log in Register
RSS Feed Twitter MySpace Facebook Digg Flickr Delicious YouTube

DGA gives Hurt Locker's Bigelow Oscar boost

The director of the Iraq war film The Hurt Locker, Kathryn Bigelow, has been honoured by her peers at the Directors Guild of America as the best feature film director of the year.
The DGA Award is traditionally one of the most accurate pointers to Oscar success. The Guild has picked a different winner from the Academy only six times, since it was set up in 1949.
James Cameron’s fifty eight year old ex-wife is the first woman to win the award – and no woman has ever won the Best Director Oscar.
Accepting her award, she said it was the most incredible moment of her life, downplaying her gender as she said she just likes to think of herself as a filmmaker.
The DGA picked her over her ex-husband — for Avatar, Quentin Tarantino — for Inglourious Basterds, Jason Reitman — for Up In The Air and Lee Daniels — for Precious.
Other awards handed out by the DGA at the weekend were:
Best TV comedy director: Jason Winer — for Modern Family
Best TV drama director: Lesli Linka Glatter — for Mad Men.
Best TV movie: Ross Katz — for Taking Chance.
Best Documentary: Louie Psihoyos — for The Cove.
Lifetime achievement: Norman Jewison



Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Skip to toolbar